How Forgetting Sharpens the Focus on What Truly Matters

Accepting that you don’t have a perfect memory will greatly enhance your quality of life.

Lorna Harvey
Bouncin’ and Behavin’ Blogs

--

Image by the author via Canva

I was upset with myself last week because I forgot about my Zoom meeting. I didn’t remember until the next day. We have all been there, but it is still frustrating. I set up reminders in my phone’s alarm, but for some reason, the alarm didn’t go off this time.

I did some research about why we forget, and it turns out that the truth about forgetting isn’t as terrible as you might think.

We can’t possibly recall each and every minute detail of each and every day, and that’s the truth. Occasionally, it’s beneficial to let things slip your mind for a bit.

Here are some things to think about while adopting a new perspective on forgetting:

1. Your Brain Isn’t Designed to Recall Everything. Some memory researchers believe that our brains have developed to retain information associated with our five senses: sight, smell, taste, and touch.

Put simply, if you had an unforgettable experience when savoring a magnificent vintage wine for the very first time, it’s likely that you will recall it.

--

--

Lorna Harvey
Bouncin’ and Behavin’ Blogs

I’m a blogger, writer, and interested in helping people find answers for living their best life. I also write on https://www.createthebestlife.com/.