How I Quit Living My Life on Auto-Pilot

No more banana bread with coffee, please

Zahra A Khalid
Bouncin’ and Behavin’ Blogs
3 min readJul 29, 2023

--

My husband loves his coffee and banana bread, and I am not a caffeine person. If I have coffee or tea late in the evening, I can’t sleep and I complain about it 24 hours later.

Photo by Nathan Dumlao on Unsplash

I don’t have a sweet tooth, either. But when my husband offers to get me something when he grabs his coffee, I always ask for something sweet or a hot chocolate.

I’ve only recently become aware of this terrible habit of mine. Why do I do this? Sometimes I really don’t feel like drinking anything but I’ll still get hot chocolate or grab a muffin, WHY?

If he asks me for what I want or if I watch him eat banana bread all by himself, can I really say no? Will that even work?

While I am stuffing my mouth with another bite of the muffin, all I am thinking about is…nothing to be honest. It’s mindless action and mindless eating that fills my stomach but I want it to fill my soul. I want to cure my boredom with food.

The secret of happiness is knowing you’re in control of the decisions you make. I am not in control of what people around me are eating, but can I control what I put in my body? Hell, yes.

I never knew a cup of coffee and banana bread could be so life-changing, but I rushed home and wrote down some rules for life that I needed to take control of my actions.

Rule #1 — Say yes if you really want to, not because you’re afraid of missing out.

This goes for everything, an event everybody is excited about but you’d rather spend that time at home or do something for a personal project? Do it.

Just because everybody else wants to do something, you don’t have to pretend you’re excited about it.

Rule #2- Treat your body with the respect it deserves.

This one is important. I would eat whatever and be low on sleep, but then expect my body to not get sick so often and for brain fog to not derail my thinking process.

If you fill up your car with garbage you’ll be sitting in garbage and without adequate high fuel, your car will break down. Even if you own a Ferrari, you have to take care of it.

I am working on the other rules I want to live my life on. It’s a start on the right path.

--

--

Zahra A Khalid
Bouncin’ and Behavin’ Blogs

Former Researcher| Content Creator| Parent to two| Growth mindset and Personal Development