How I Secretly Support My LGBTQ+ Students in High School šŸ³ļøā€šŸŒˆ

(Shhhhhā€¦Itā€™s Not Really a Secret)

Perfectly Imperfect (Pi)
Bouncinā€™ and Behavinā€™ Blogs

--

Image by Author of the Super Subtle GIANT PRIDE FLAG in her classroom

Jason Provencio just published a story that struck such a strong chord, I felt the need to follow it up with a response:

Normally, I would take a brief moment to kiss Jasonā€™s ass, in an attempt to rattle the porcelain throne that Rusty Shackleford sits on as the Big #2 here at BBB and suck up for some possible Bootie-Kissing future Boost points. But this story is too serious for that. This story is about life and death.

Suffice it to say, Jasonā€™s article truly does touch my heart. It has quite a few parallels to my own journey as a supporter of our most marginalized students in public education here in America.

All joking aside, I became the Pride Club Advisor for our LGBTQ+ students over a decade ago, partially because we lost 3 students in less than 12 months to suicide. I still see their faces in my sleep sometimes.

Iā€™ve lost more since then. Sometimes the news finds its way to me after theyā€™ve graduated ā€” all tooā€¦

--

--

Perfectly Imperfect (Pi)
Bouncinā€™ and Behavinā€™ Blogs

1X Top Writer on Medium. Teacher. What do I teach? Kids. I teach kids. I teach that they are valued, respected, even loved. And I try to sneak in some Algebra