I Am For Demonstrations Against the War in Gaza

Yet they need to change what they are demonstrating for

J. Isaac Bowman
Bouncin’ and Behavin’ Blogs
6 min readMay 4, 2024

--

Photo by Tristan Sosteric on Unsplash

Over the last few weeks, demonstrations have been breaking out in many college campuses in the United States over the war in Gaza. The media is all abuzz about it. Some have called the demonstrators Pro Palestinian. I’ve seen headlines on Fox News calling these actions “riots” and antisemitic.

Demonstrators insist they’ve been peaceful and not antisemitic.

I’ve read innumerable articles and opinions and watched more videos on this subject than I can remember. I’ve seen no one come close to giving any sensible response to the war or demonstrations. I am, therefore, humbly compelled to comment on these actions of civil disobedience and on the war itself.

I ask the reader not to jump to conclusions and try to pigeonhole me because my views will not be what you expect. I dare you to read this article before you try to define my views.

I strongly encourage (peaceful) demonstrations against the war in Gaza, but I would seek an essential modification of their direction as I know it. The change I seek is not for lack of empathy but with the desire for Israel to stop their bombing of Palestine because I DO have empathy for that cause.

--

--

J. Isaac Bowman
Bouncin’ and Behavin’ Blogs

An author, a long-time runner, a father, a grandfather, a husband, a brother, and a believer in human rights.