Self-care advice

I Did Not Realize That Comparison Is a Joy Killer Until My Ah-Ha Moment

The best thing to do is not to scroll on social media if you are in a stressful state. Remember, what you see is not reality.

Miriam Rachel
Bouncin’ and Behavin’ Blogs
7 min readApr 10, 2024

--

Photo by Daria Nepriakhina 🇺🇦 on Unsplash

I no longer like to use social media unless I need to share something (those hiring freelancers want to see social activity on their social media accounts) or contribute to a Facebook group.

I love Facebook groups because you get so much out of them for whatever you need. My podcast guests are from a particular Facebook group that I use. However, other than that, I no longer scroll.

That is because if I am having a bad day and see someone with a shining status update (like rubbing salt in your wound update even though they have no idea they would be rubbing salt in a wound), that will not be good for my mental health.

Even though I logically know that it is still best to avoid it, during the midst of my many life struggles, it was hard for me not to compare my challenging life to those I saw online.

Scrolling on Social Media Is Poison if You Are Struggling in Life

--

--

Miriam Rachel
Bouncin’ and Behavin’ Blogs

Freelance Writer, Blogger, Virtual Assistant, Tarot Reader, and Mental Health Advocate. Owner of Tarot Talk pub among 2 others! https://beacons.ai/miriamrachel