I Gave Up My Special Needs Son…And It Was The Best Decision Ever

Miriam Rachel
Bouncin’ and Behavin’ Blogs
7 min readJul 23, 2022

--

How was I helping my son by keeping him at home?

Photo by Stacey Gabrielle Koenitz Rozells on Unsplash

When you read that headline, you probably had thoughts swirling in your head, such as “what a horrible mother to do something like that?” or “she obviously took the easy way out.” Well, I can tell you that there was nothing easy about what I did.

However, once you learn why I did what I did, you will realize that it was the best decision where everyone involved benefits.

Before getting into the meat and potatoes, I will share a little about myself. I have always struggled with depression and had unprocessed trauma from bullying and scapegoating in my youth for a long time.

I also have two kids. My daughter is 20, and my son with special needs is 18.

I had a great birth with my daughter, but the birth of my son was extremely traumatic to the point that he lost oxygen. Enough oxygen was restored to prevent further damage.

However, he did not hit milestones on time as an infant, and by the time he was…

--

--

Miriam Rachel
Bouncin’ and Behavin’ Blogs

Freelance Writer, Blogger, Virtual Assistant, Tarot Reader, and Mental Health Advocate. Owner of Tarot Talk pub among 2 others! https://beacons.ai/miriamrachel