I Got Rejected By a Content Mill

The Road to Success is Paved With Failure

Daria Blanca
Bouncin’ and Behavin’ Blogs
3 min readFeb 22, 2023

--

For the sake of professionalism, I won’t disclose the company, nor the type of writing they specialize in. They don’t owe me an explanation about why my writing didn’t make the cut. I don’t owe them the free publicity.

Admittedly, neither the type of writing nor the money would have been anything groundbreaking. But I was excited about the opportunity regardless. I could hone my writing skills, have access to editors who would offer constructive criticism, and make some extra cash doing what I love. I thought this company would become part of my humble origins story.

Isn’t it a rite of passage to start off with a mundane gig that’s not at all where we imagined we’d land right out of the gate?

In the space provided in the application titled “Why Do You Want to Work For Us?” I typed with the utmost confidence, “Writing is my best form of communication. I know my written words can help small businesses be heard.”

A writing sample was required. The guidelines and specifics they gave were clear as mud. Still, I read the instructions over and over, agonized over the topic, and performed additional research. I designed my own little template to accurately follow their super-strict, highly vague instructions. I collaborated with my support team, composed of a retired English teacher and a former marketing/advertising executive, to be sure the piece was concise, interesting, and hit all the requirements. Throughout the process, without a shadow of a doubt, my mind said, “You got this. You can write anything.”

Photo by Michal Matlon on Unsplash

Judging by the Dear Daria message in my inbox, the company thought otherwise. Why? I have no idea.

“Due to the overwhelming amount of applicants, we are unable to give feedback.”

Was my piece good, but not good enough, or a steaming pile of pig shit? Did someone else’s voice have a slightly better edge, or was my work just run through some automated software that resulted in a Yes/No determination?

After some whimpering to my husband, whose attitude was, “One day, that company is going to feel really stupid for turning you down,” my ego has since recovered from the paper cut. I have an overwhelmingly busy mind, but amidst the tidal wave of dueling thoughts, I keep circling back to one phrase:

“You can’t say Success without Suck.”

Apparently, my piece DID suck. I probably won’t be informed why it did, so I can improve. That sucks too.

It was my first time attempting this type of writing (hey, they said no experience required). Of course, I’m going to suck at it on the first try.

Every successful person sucked at their craft in the beginning. Even after they become masters, sucking still happens.

Stephen King wrote some abominable novels.

Michael Jordan blew baskets and lost games.

Iron Man 3 was a disaster.

Who am I to think my writing is so special that it will never get rejected, that it will never fail me?

Or, maybe my talent is all in my head, and the only people who will ever appreciate it are my loved ones.

I’m not here to discuss how this is a prime opportunity to turn a negative into a positive. There’s enough personal growth content everywhere preaching about that. We know the drill.

I just wanted to share with anyone out there currently facing any kind of rejection, I hear you, and I’m with you. Yes, it sucks, but it’s supposed to. However, you are not alone. May these experiences build resilience, so we become absolutely bullet-proof. Live and learn, right?

Photo by Helena Lopes on Unsplash

PLEASE, feel free to share your Been Theres and Done Thats. We’re all in this thing called life together. I could probably create an entire pub of my own discussing failure, rejection, and pushing through. That is, of course, if you think my writing is good enough ;-)

--

--