I Regret Not Picking Up a Hobby Earlier in My Life

But There’s still time for you

Sohaib Waheed
Bouncin’ and Behavin’ Blogs
3 min readDec 2, 2023

--

Growing up in a weird time, I was always divided between spending my time sitting on my phone/TV for hours doing nothing or just hanging out with my friends.

I’m 19 right now, so its not like my growing-up days are over, but rather the terrifying adventures of the real world are about to come. In uni, I noticed that many of my newfound friends had been doing something they had been doing since their childhood, like playing sports, singing, drawing, or something else.

Most of them had something that made them stand out from everyone else. To be honest, I thought that most kids, like me, were just goofing around during their school days, but I couldn’t be any more wrong. Sure, some of my friends played sports and had hobbies, but I never really understood their importance until this late.

Although I am glad that my parents let me be my own person instead of forcing me to play a specific sport or take piano lessons, I sometimes wish that they had pushed me for something.

I started playing basketball a year ago, which is the same time I got into writing, and both of these experiences have been absolutely wonderful. I still sincerely believe that writing on Medium on a regular basis will help me overcome my mental block and become a better writer overall, even though I do not write much here.

While playing basketball, I have met a lot of new people, a few of whom I have made genuine and loving friendships with. Of course, a big advantage of sports is that it not only improves our health but also helps us play as a team, which is very much needed in our future lives.

Even if you don’t believe me from my personal experience, let me illustrate a few reasons why you should pick up a hobby.

Why you should pick up a Hobby

  1. Finding hobbies that align with your future goals will help you develop a better skillset that will help you in the future.
  2. As hobbies like drawing or writing stimulate creativity, they not only make our overall problem-solving capabilities better but also improve our innovative
  3. Since hobbies encourage us to learn and do research on them, the pursuit of knowledge can be a lifelong journey through your chosen hobby.
  4. Hobbies should be things that are comforting and fun to do, so hobbies wind up improving the overall mood.
  5. Hobbies that involve a lot of movement, like playing sports, improve physical health, making us more active.
  6. Hobbies can become a way through which you express yourself, so expressing yourself through something you love leads to the fulfillment of our personal lives.
  7. Making time for your hobby in an otherwise hectic life can be quite tricky, but if you can do it consistently, you’ll have great time management skills.

Overall, choosing something that you passionately love is all there is to picking a great hobby. I am having fun, and I wish I had picked up my hobbies earlier, but there is still time for me and for everyone, as picking up hobbies doesn’t have an age limit.

“No man is really happy or safe without a hobby.” — William Osler

Thanks for reading, byeee❤❤

--

--