I Stepped Back From Writing For a Few Weeks and Started Gardening

We all need a break

Hazel Paradise
Bouncin’ and Behavin’ Blogs
4 min readApr 12, 2023

--

Photo by Jonathan Kemper on Unsplash

I like to work with my hands and mud. I find peace when I am working alone.

It’s been a long time since I am consistent with this blog. I was suffering from writer’s block and my third business wasn’t making me many sales which made me feel like a failure. It's really hard to see your beloved business going down and not giving the result as expected.

I love to have multiple income streams because -

  1. It makes us feel secure. I know the feeling is really nice to wake up and see the numbers slowly going up on your dashboards.
  2. You become financially INDEPENDENT.
  3. It’s hard for me to say my mom and my siblings no if they needed something and I have to step back in order to save some money. A big family requires more time and effort on your part and being the eldest one means a little more responsibility.
  4. I want to travel with my mom.

I never dreamed of making $1k a month. This was never a target for me. But the only aim I had was to be independent and helped my family with their needs.

But a time comes when you just slow down and you realize you don’t have as much energy as you used to have during your college days. You have more experience, and more knowledge but less energy. That’s one of the major problems I am dealing with right now.

So I decided to step back and stayed away from writing for a few weeks, trying to regain my life.

These weeks I realized how many marketplaces I have made accounts and I was getting few sales here and few sales there. This is not how it is supposed to be. Maybe this was the reason for my slowness and low energy. When you diversify yourself too much, you stretch yourself too thin. It's more energy and less income.

My new love — Gardening

I talked about gardening before and how I liked it so much to work with mud. I live in a small town so I am surrounded by trees and there are big farms a few minutes away from my place.

Whenever I feel low, this is the right place to be.

If you remember that I always wanted to start a gardening blog. I have mentioned this in my previous article but I lack the right knowledge about it. But after working on my garden and exploring more farmland in my area I may not have become an expert but enough knowledge to start my very own blog.

I am smiling while writing this because that’s not going to happen. I don’t want to monetize everything I like.

After all, how much happiness can you buy with money? I don’t know for others but for me, it’s very limited and short-lived.

Starting a blog takes a tremendous amount of time and energy and with three blogs I can see that very well now.

My third blog is in automated mode and is completely AI created and trust me, my own blog is much better than the AI-created blogs (in case you need the answers).

So this year there would be no more blogs for me now. I will be staying with two.

What I did with these weeks and things I learned when I stayed away from Medium -

  1. I realized that people recognize AI articles on my third blog. It’s good for Affiliate marketing but not for selling your own products.
  2. I have limited energy and I cannot do everything myself now.
  3. I have worked on so many marketplaces before that they were making little money here and there. I have closed a few of them. Kept two only because I like the niche a lot.
  4. When I take a long break I often get lazy. So this was the number one reason I decided to pay attention to my third business which is a small online store. I am not making hundreds of bucks as in my other businesses but I am glad that finally, I am seeing some sales there.
  5. Sometimes my life is going really well and sometimes it hit the rock bottom. In either case, I never knew the real reasons why until I look closely at it. And the funny thing is that I am the real reason behind the two.

What I am doing currently -

I never tell people when I am working. I never share much about what I am working on as I often don’t feel like it’s the right thing to do. But I will be telling this time, I think a little sneak peek won’t hurt.

  1. I will be paying attention to my Medium blogs these few weeks. I’ll be continuously writing here and sharing my knowledge with you about writing, ghostwriting, affiliate marketing, and all the side hustles I am trying and testing.
  2. I have to complete one book under my real name.
  3. Increase engagement on my Instagram account for driving traffic to my eCommerce store. This will only be when I have enough energy left for the day.

I have two more side hustles but for now, they are going to take the back seat and I will try my best not to look at the dashboard because once I see a boost in sales I leave everything and do the work which actually doesn’t interest me anymore.

If you want to know more about making money on Fiverr, then you can check out my book “Small Ebooks, Big Money”. Happy Writing Journey!

--

--

Hazel Paradise
Bouncin’ and Behavin’ Blogs

Top Writer On Medium. Writer of 90+ books under multiple pen names. Yes, I make money writing ebooks. https://hazelparadise.gumroad.com/l/fclinr