I Will Be Happy When

The endless cycle of living beyond our means

Melissa Steussy
Bouncin’ and Behavin’ Blogs

--

Photo by Randy Jacob on Unsplash

The anticipation and excitement of a new item, a trip, or an experience is sometimes the best part. We get the high and dopamine rush when we fantasize about what it will be like to have those new shoes or handbags. We book a trip and start obsessing about what we will wear and how good it will feel to be on the plane and arrive at a new destination. It’s almost like we become a new person in the “fantasy phase” of our plan or purchase.

I’ve found that the adage is right; “wherever you go, there you are.

We don’t become some supermodel in our bikini on the beach of our destination. The new shoes or outfit feel good to wear and I love a new fit as much as anyone, but what I’ve learned is the novelty soon wears off. I know the high I am feeling while anticipating the arrival of a package and the thrill I feel when ripping open the package and trying it on is fleeting.

As soon as I am done opening up the goods, I feel a tightness in my chest as the excitement wanes.

What’s next? I think.

This has been the thing I’ve been excited about for a week, and now it’s here. I am already on to the next thing as I feel the drop in my excitement levels.

--

--

Melissa Steussy
Bouncin’ and Behavin’ Blogs

26 years sober, health nut, supplement junkie, and all-around fantastic gal. Wrote a book called, Let Your Privates Breathe-Breaking the Cycle of Addiction....