I’m Vegan! Non-Radicalized!

And I’m darn proud of it!

Elektra Porter
Bouncin’ and Behavin’ Blogs
3 min readNov 4, 2022

--

Source: Pixabay

Who am I to force my opinion onto others?
Who am I to tell people what to eat and which lifestyle to follow?
Why should I waste precious time and energy in conversations with people who lack empathy in general and who are blind to all suffering in the world?

I learned that I can’t make people “see”. Trying to make people see who are not ready or who may never be ready is in both cases a waste of my energy. Moreover, it’s not my job to do so.
People do learn best through their own experiences.

I remember that before I turned vegan, I was vegetarian for a couple of years. My best friend back then was neither v. nor veg. which was okay for me.

Years later she would have an experience that would turn her into a vegan after seeing one of these horrible transporters where pigs were ready to embark on a painful and distressing journey until they are being killed if they haven’t already died a wretched death on the road.

Side Note
Animals are sensitive creatures and pigs are highly sensitive which means that these transporters to their final destination are stressful beyond measure meaning lots of cortisol (stress hormone) is being released which in turn has a negative impact on the quality of the meat by the way.

That was a turning point for her. But SHE had to make this experience in order for HER to change!
At first, I was happy but after she turned into a radicalized vegan, it really started annoying me.

I was just like, wait a moment is this the same person who until not so long ago regularly consumed duck meat at a Chinese restaurant?!
Let’s pretend it was duck…

I admit that I was having a hard time coming to terms with her “radical awareness change”, and the way she tried to “teach me”. In a few words: she was extreme. It became clearer to me that I don’t want to be like this.

By the way, becoming vegan in order to “be different” or “feel special” should not be your motivation!
I met many vegan people so far and in some cases, I highly question their motivation and authenticity.

Let’s be real here. For everybody who wants to go vegan, implementing these changes takes time and money (body adjusts, clothing, makeup etc.).

Probably one of the major reasons why I’m non-radicalized is because I used to live between extremes all my life and I have suffered greatly from these highs and lows. Living in and between extremes meant constant instability and imbalance.

While my main reason to go vegan was an ethical one with regard to animals, being vegan is so much more. It also means embracing the fact that everything is connected. The way we live and what we eat impacts not only our bodies but our planet as well.

I can’t change another person or their lifestyle but I can lead by example.
I am always willing to support people who would like to go vegan and answer questions about my own journey into veganism, what to be aware of and how to maintain and live a “healthy” vegan lifestyle on a tight budget.

Being a non-radicalized vegan also means that if my future partner is a “carnivorous plant” this would not be an issue provided that he is a mindful, empathic person.

Live and let live.

--

--