I’ve Been Cloned

Imposter Jason is Trying to Scam You on Medium

He’s Been Making His Rounds Since Yesterday and I’m Pissed Off

Jason Provencio
Bouncin’ and Behavin’ Blogs
5 min readMay 17, 2023

--

Don’t fall for Imposter Jason’s clone account. It’s fake and I have nothing to do with it.

Just a heads-up for anyone who might be receiving comments from “me” on their Medium articles. I’m not sending you messages directing you to contact me via WhatsApp, which apparently is what this fake profile pretending to be me is asking everyone to do.

I reported this to Medium yesterday afternoon, but the fake profile that’s impersonating me is still up and still sending messages to my friends. I hope they can take care of this quickly. I hate the idea that some spammer is pretending to be me and sending everyone messages to contact him/her via WhatsApp.

I was first notified of this in a post The Cynical Manager tagged me in about it. Then I heard from my good friend Elizabeth Sobieski about it. And then my homie, Rusty Shackleford hit me up on Discord to tell me. Finally, my buddy Claire Franky then sent me this screenshot of the message they are sending to everyone:

Rest assured, I’ll never direct anyone to message me on WhatsApp. I don’t use it and wouldn’t do that.

After receiving a fifth message from one of my favorite people, Tom Owens: How I REALLY Feel

--

--

Jason Provencio
Bouncin’ and Behavin’ Blogs

Award-winning writer and wildlife photographer. Social Justice supporter, LGBTQ ally and Dad. Owner of Bouncin’ and Behavin’ Blogs. &:^)