Is Being an Outcast So Horrible?

Once upon a time, I thought it was. But not anymore

Miriam Rachel
Candid Talk
Published in
6 min readMay 8, 2024

--

A kid looking outside while stuck inside, designed by Canva Pro.

I was living a nightmare when I was in my youth. I was an outcast. Not just an outcast but a bullied one. I was bullied to the point it caused C-PTSD in my adulthood, among other things.

Since Canada has no backbone, no one sues here, so suing those who caused me trauma was not going to work (I did entertain that idea when I was struggling with it all, trust me.. but I have let that go because what will that solve anyway?).

Who wanted to be friends with a neurodivergent, overweight, acne-ridden freak like me?

I mean, some did, as I don’t know if they did it out of pity or if they found something with me that they truly liked. But whatever. Who cares now?

I am about to talk about why so many fear being an outcast like my old self, but after going through that ultimate catalyst, I have a much different perspective.

Why Do People Fear Being an Outcast?

You can thank society and its expectations for that. In a culture that often emphasizes conformity and fitting in, being an outcast can be seen as a negative experience.

And it is devastating when you are young and vulnerable, especially if you are sensitive…

--

--

Miriam Rachel
Candid Talk

Freelance Writer, Blogger, Virtual Assistant, Tarot Reader, and Mental Health Advocate. Owner of Tarot Talk pub among 2 others! https://beacons.ai/miriamrachel