Is it Hard to Become an Affiliate Marketer?

Let’s learn the reality of this business

Greece Aberdeen
Bouncin’ and Behavin’ Blogs
3 min readMay 3, 2023

--

Photo by Jp Valery on Unsplash

Tell me the name of at least one business that is easy to get started.

Now it’s been more than three years now since I started my affiliate marketing journey. Some days have been really bad and some days good. There is actually nothing about being lucky in this business. It’s all about hard work and how much time and energy you are willing to put into it.

What is affiliate marketing?

I have taken this numerous times but there are still many people and especially teens who are really new to this business. And we all know the complicated definition that has been given to us on the internet. So I won’t do that for you. I’ll give a simple definition for this.

You promote someone else’s product. It means that someone else will create the product and you will promote the product on their behalf. You still don’t own the products but every time you sell, you get a certain percentage from it.

There are various types of commission structures that the company can give you. I have listed all of them down below -

  1. You get a certain percentage from the total sales made. I like the products which give me 50% of the total sale price.
  2. Some will give you a flat one-time fee.
  3. There are some who give recurring commissions. It means that you will be paid a certain amount every time the customer renews their membership. This one is always overwhelming!

So what type of commission rate you should choose?

When I started I was a little greedy at that time. All those thousands of dollars people were making on the internet would make me crazy and I couldn’t think of anything other than $1k in my pockets.

I wanted to see those numbers on my dashboard fast.

So I started with the recurring commission. Some of my products were giving recurring commissions forever and some only for the first 12 months.

I chose a recurring commission for my first affiliate business and I have to admit selling high-ticket products is not easy. I didn’t make a single sale in my first year.

One year and no sale. This was the reality of selling a high-ticket program.

I have only two recurring commission affiliate programs at this moment and the rest are low-commission. And I will be honest over here that I am happy about these concurrent sales I get from low-commission products.

So is it still hard to become an affiliate marketer?

Every business is hard and if we work efficiently only then we will see the dashboard numbers going higher.

Every business gets tough when more and more people get into it. When competition increases then the entry barrier also increases. But that is not stopping anyone from getting into it.

All the resources are free for you. You just have to wake up every morning and give your first energy to your business. At the start, it will be difficult but when time passes by you will learn something new every single day about your business, and with each passage of time this will get easy for sure!

If you are interested in knowing more about how I earned my first $495.9 through affiliate marketing using Medium then you can check out my ebook “How I Earned $495.9 Through Affiliate Marketing”.

--

--