Is It Really Possible to Truly Get Good at Anything With Practice?

Smiang's Notes
Bouncin’ and Behavin’ Blogs
2 min readMay 13, 2024
Photo by Scott Gruber on Unsplash

Not just good.

If you do the same thing for a good number of times you would learn to do it on autopilot.

Numéro une: A pianist practices a song for X amount of time. When he plays on stage, he doesn't think about the next key to lay his hand on. His mind knows what to do. #He is on autopilot.

Numéro deux: A child learning how to write. He is very self-aware of every letter- the stroke, the curve. He thinks, deliberating before scribbling a letter. (or he scribbles jargon and goes to show Mom with a proud smile). Now just imagine the little effort you take to write. #autopilot.

Numéro trois: Last year I was a slug when it came to typing. So much so that I had to search the keyboard for a letter before typing, this was a huge problem as 70% of the things I do require me to be seated with a keyboard. From watching YouTube videos, I found myself taking a course on Skillshare (#amazing by the way)

triple-your-typing-speed by Ali Abdaal

I sat down for minutes every day to practice, and I implemented different advice strategies (I still do).

It was so easy for me to show up because I love it.
Why I love it holds an unclear answer. Maybe it is the sound the keys make at every click or more it is the drive that comes with growing.
I haven't reached my target typing speed yet, however, I have become proficient to the point where I can type without looking at the keys and with little thought.

Today a stranger complimented my typing and asked me for typing advice. (#Just wow. It made me happy, however)

So yes, it really is possible to truly get good at anything with practice. With consistent and effective practice you will become so good that you run on autopilot.

--

--

Smiang's Notes
Bouncin’ and Behavin’ Blogs

I’m a 3rd-year medical student passionate about growth, both personally and professionally. I’m all about continuous improvement and pushing beyond my limits.