Is J.K. Rowling Transphobic?

You asked for proof and here it is

Lilith Helstrom
Bouncin’ and Behavin’ Blogs
22 min readMar 23, 2023

--

Photo by Aditya Vyas on Unsplash

When I wrote an article about throwing away my Harry Potter books because J.K. Rowling is transphobic, I didn’t expect a bunch of people to say that her opinions were perfectly rational and not hateful at all.

I’m not surprised that several people wanted to continue in their love of the Harry Potter Universe. These things are personal decisions, based on consciences, and it’s up to the individual what kind of people they can tolerate in entertainment or not.

There are so many different people with so many opinions that it would be hard to like anything if we boycotted every problematic person or company.

But I was surprised that people were upset that I didn’t prove J.K. Rowling was transphobic in a personal essay.

It was a personal essay about my own life’s journey, not an article meant to prove anything to anyone, but that was found to be unacceptable, for some reason.

The top-liked comment was someone saying I needed to read her essay and see if I still found her to be transphobic. Many have read her thoughts on it apparently and have been convinced her views are innocent.

I’ve read it before and was not convinced.

--

--

Lilith Helstrom
Bouncin’ and Behavin’ Blogs

I talk about religion, sex, emotions, and life. Whatever I happen to be thinking about that I think might be interesting. Top Writer in multiple categories.