HEALTH

I’ve Tried Everything to Quit Smoking Cigarettes — Except This

I’m About to Embark on a Scary Journey and Could Use a Little Help

Adam T Kuznia
Bouncin’ and Behavin’ Blogs
3 min readJun 27, 2023

--

Screenshot by Author

Cigarettes, bloody cigarettes. How can such a disgusting habit be so delicious? If you’ve never smoked cigarettes, it’s hard to understand the spell a cowboy killer can have on a person.

As much as I love reefing my lung darts, it’s time to quit. The time to stop was twenty years ago before I started. I knew then just like I do now, but I did it anyway. Young Adam wanted to fit in with the “cool” kids, and the hook was set. Peer pressure ruled my life back then.

Maybe smoking was a way for me to rebel against authority. Perhaps it was the way a Marlboro melted my stress and anxiety. Whatever the reason, I am a smoker who needs to become a non-smoker.

Last week, I promised my younger sister I would run alongside her in a local marathon at the end of August. I prefer to keep my promises, and after day one of training, there’s no way I can run ten miles on tarred lungs. Something needs to change. Now.

How do you leave something you love so much? I can’t see myself living my life without my companion. A life without cigarettes is a beautiful vision, but I struggle to see it. Waking up without…

--

--

Adam T Kuznia
Bouncin’ and Behavin’ Blogs

Polite, Sensitive, Respectful, and a Little Needy | Father, Farmer, and Former Over-The-Road Trucker | Writier for the publication Bouncin' and Behavin' Blogs |