Ketchup is Overrated

It just doesn’t excite my taste buds

Sohaib Waheed
Bouncin’ and Behavin’ Blogs
3 min readApr 6, 2023

--

Photo by Erik Mclean on Unsplash

I know that I am not alone on this. Many people, ranging from chefs and food critics to regular customers, have shown a distaste for Ketchup.

The thing about Ketchup, that I dislike the most is that it is supposed to be paired with savory foods like burgers and fries. But its sweet and tangy taste ruins that experience for me.

Now, I am not saying sweet and savory combos do not work, for example; I love honey and chicken wings. Maybe it's because honey has a natural sweetness to it, while ketchup has that processed, almost artificial sweetness to it.

Some foods are meant to be eaten as they are. They have their own flavor and uniqueness, and ketchup masks that flavor with its own overpowering tangy taste. Most of the time, ketchup is only used to make average food more palatable.

Now, from the above sentences, you may think that I might also be against other condiments like mustard or mayo. I assure you that is not the case.

For example, I love BBQ sauce with chicken sandwiches. The thing that makes it different from ketchup is that barbecue sauce does not overpower the main dish, it lets all the ingredients play their parts and, in the end, enhances them with a smoky flavor.

Another thing that I hate about ketchup is how many people are dependent on it. They refuse to enjoy the true flavor of things and want foods that are smothered with ketchup. Food companies also take advantage of this. They use cheap and subpar ingredients and then try to mask that low quality with the use of ketchup.

Ketchup is the most dominant condiment right now, and that should change. Every restaurant I go to has at least one bottle of ketchup on hand. While it's extremely convenient for those who love this tomatillo paste, other food connoisseurs ( mainly me ) have a knack for trying their food with actual sauces, which are unfortunately not available.

Ketchup does not allow the flavors of the other ingredients to set in the dish. Whenever I’m eating burgers or sandwiches, I try to enjoy the taste of each and every ingredient, and ketchup does not grant me that privilege. Same thing with fries, but in that case, I am just trying to enjoy that salty and greasy flavor.

I cannot express my hatred for ketchup enough. I truly believe that it does not go with any meal, except maybe a few Chinese dishes like Manchurian or shahslick. Other than that, ketchup does not add to any dish at all.

“All my homies hate Ketchup, Mustard all the way.” Mahatma Gandhi

If you haven’t already guessed, this article is just satire. While I do have a distaste for ketchup in my heart, it's really not that much.

P.S (If you want me to rant or talk about some other topics let me know in the comments below)

My Latest :

My Must-Read :

--

--