Making an Effort to Put Yourself in Someone Else’s Shoes Won’t Hurt

Making an effort to be more empathetic is good for everyone.

Miriam Rachel
Bouncin’ and Behavin’ Blogs
7 min readMay 12, 2024

--

Photo by Joseph Barrientos on Unsplash

Mother’s Day is bittersweet for me, but I am also indifferent to it, for the most part. Maybe it is a form of self-preservation.

I am thankful to spend time with my daughter, but I am grieving for not knowing what the genuine experience of raising a son is, even though I have a son.

Because of his complex special needs of severe ADHD, autism, and likely undiagnosed ODD, there was so much trauma involved without it being his fault at all.

Making the painful decision to surrender him to a therapeutic residence at 13 for good also complicated the experience, as it would have been a matter of life or death for me if things continued as they were.

I tried my best to develop a relationship after he left, but sadly, both found us triggering one another, so we are now estranged.

It is a sad situation but the best one in this case. He is happy and thriving, and I could not be happier, so that is what matters.

Most people have been very kind and empathetic about my situation and have admired me for being brave for what I did.

--

--

Miriam Rachel
Bouncin’ and Behavin’ Blogs

Freelance Writer, Blogger, Virtual Assistant, Tarot Reader, and Mental Health Advocate. Owner of Tarot Talk pub among 2 others! https://beacons.ai/miriamrachel