Mirror Mirror on the Wall…

Who is worthy of them all?

--

Photo by Luis Villasmil on Unsplash

When I was 9, I was watching ‘Snow White and The Seven Dwarfs’.

And unlike every child and teenager at that time, who were obsessed with true love’s kiss and being a princess, I was fascinated by the Evil Queen’s mirror. (For those who do not know, It was a magic mirror and used to talk to the Evil Queen and answer her cruel questions. Look it up!)

While watching that, I exclaimed, ‘Woah! I want that mirror!’

My mother, who was forced to watch childish movies with me was blank and asked, ‘Why? It belongs to the villain of the movie.’

‘Yeah! But she has magic and she has power. She can know who is the best!’

‘Umm, you can too! And to top it all. You can know without being a villain’, she said.

I was attentive all of a sudden, ‘What? Does our mirror have magic?’

‘No silly! You do!’

‘WHAT!’, I was excited!!

‘Yeah!! Just go and look into the mirror and ask, ‘Am I a good person?’ And if the answer is ‘No’, you don’t deserve magic. If the answer is yes, then… YOU DO! Simple!’

I was hesitant, ‘Will the mirror answer?’

‘Tell me after you do it’, she said.

I went to the mirror and asked, ‘Am I a good person?’

And I suddenly remembered that I shared my favorite ice cream with my sister that day and I was suddenly smiling because I got my answer somehow.

I went back and screamed, ‘MOM! IT SAYS I AM A GOOD PERSON BECAUSE I SHARED MY ICE CREAM WITH DIDI.’ (‘Didi’ is how you refer to your elder sister in my culture.)

My mom was happy, hugged me, and said, ‘Yay!! Proud of you!’

Photo by Melbin Jacob on Unsplash

Then one day when I snatched the last slice of pizza from my cousin because he already had two and I only had one. It was only fair. But my cousin started crying.

My mom scolded and corrected me, and told me to go to my room without the pizza.

That day when I asked the mirror ‘Am I a good person?’

It didn’t answer.

Because deep down I knew that even though I was ‘fair’ in my mind, I hurt my cousin by cruelly snatching the pizza away from him. It was bad behavior.

I realized that…

One: From a very young age, children can develop the sense of what is right and what is not and can judge for themselves, if taught right.

Thanks to my mother, I knew that sharing was nice and snatching was cruel.

Two: Things change with time, of course. That time it was my ice cream and pizza that decided whether I was good or bad.

And today, I ask about my kindness, ethics, and worth. The questions changed, but the mirror magic didn’t.

Last: You can judge yourself and ask the mirror if you are worthy enough for certain things or not. But you just know it, even without asking. It’s your conscience answering for you.

Yes, you might feel underconfident sometimes or might be demotivated. But deep down you already know if you are good enough or talented enough.

Or whether you are a good person and deserve whatever you have or whatever you are asking for from the universe.

But remember to answer honestly while looking in the mirror. It won’t work if you are not genuine because delulu might not be the solulu in this case! :P

Photo by Copper and Wild on Unsplash

Until Next Time,

Toodles!

--

--