Motherhood and self-care

Moms Scoff at Self-Care Recommendations for One Reason

They don’t understand what self-care truly means! I did it, too.

Miriam Rachel
Bouncin’ and Behavin’ Blogs
6 min readApr 12, 2024

--

Photo by Jen Theodore on Unsplash

Being a mom is HARD! Being a mom to a special needs child is extra hard! I can compare because I have been in both worlds, raising a child without special needs and a child with special needs.

Either way, as rewarding as motherhood is, it can be highly demanding and challenging. That is why self-care is essential, and I failed to do that when I was struggling to care for my son.

In fact, I scoffed at anyone who recommended self-care at the time because that was not possible. However, I may have found a way to do it if I had more support.

Many moms, in general, scoff at any recommendation from others about self-care because they believe that it involves a day at the spa when they cannot leave their kids or have work while the kids are at school.

Many Moms Don’t Understand the True Meaning of Self-Care

Self-care does not mean going to the spa or even going anywhere. It means finding ways to nurture your mind, body, and soul to help you rejuvenate after dealing with the chaos that often comes with motherhood.

--

--

Miriam Rachel
Bouncin’ and Behavin’ Blogs

Freelance Writer, Blogger, Virtual Assistant, Tarot Reader, and Mental Health Advocate. Owner of Tarot Talk pub among 2 others! https://beacons.ai/miriamrachel