Physical Comedy

My Family’s Funniest Physical Comedy Moments

I’ll Never Forget These Family Memories Involving Physical Comedy

Jason Provencio
Bouncin’ and Behavin’ Blogs
7 min readSep 27, 2022

--

Jim Carrey is one of the all-time greats of physical comedy. I adore him. Photo: Wikimedia Commons

It started when I was REALLY young. Perhaps at age four or five years old. I fell out of bed and hurt my shoulder. I’m not sure how that even happened and I don’t recall how painful it actually was.

What I do remember is my dad playing some Three Stooges movies for me while he kept me up in the middle of the night to be sure I didn’t have a concussion, before they could take me to the doctor in the morning. The Stooges were SO FUNNY. This was before we even had a VCR, still in the late 70s. He somehow had a reel-to-reel setup from what I remember and we watched it together on a screen.

Hence my love for physical comedy was born. Granted, The Three Stooges were pretty extreme as far as comedic violence, not unlike the Popeye or Tom & Jerry cartoons we were starting to fall in love with. Physical comedy has been a presence in my life for a long time now.

I think back to some of the greats, my favorite actors who excelled at physical comedy. Whether it was making goofy faces, being clumsy, or using comedic violence, I’ve always had an appreciation for those who could make me laugh with their actions in addition to their funny words.

--

--

Jason Provencio
Bouncin’ and Behavin’ Blogs

Award-winning writer and wildlife photographer. Social Justice supporter, LGBTQ ally and Dad. Owner of Bouncin’ and Behavin’ Blogs. &:^)