My First IV Hydration Therapy Experience

Pursuing Relief From Chronic Illness: Part I

Endemic Noise
Bouncin’ and Behavin’ Blogs

--

Me getting an IV vitamin infusion.

Disclaimer: I am not a medical professional and am sharing my personal experience. This article also contains images of rashes on my legs and arms that are not gross in my opinion but may be disturbing to very sensitive people.

Introduction

This is the first part of a series about my experience of trying to heal from chronic idiopathic urticaria (CIU) through alternative medicine. My particular case seems to be a rare reaction to a vaccine, one that has been making me miserably itchy for the past four months.

After being on maximum antihistamines and leukotriene receptor antagonists (LTRAs) for all four months, I am only seeing my rash get worse. At my most recent visit, my allergist prescribed my fourth round of oral prednisone. I choked back tears and picked up the prescription from CVS, but I decided not to “get in the zone,” as my husband likes to say.

Even though prednisone offers amazing relief, it makes me feel uncomfortably bloated and has caused me to gain 20 pounds in 4 months. In addition, the rash seems to come back even worse each time I finish my round of medication.

I made up my mind to jump out of the predni-zone and dive into the often stigmatized…

--

--