My Girlfriend is Possessed!

Bharath T V
Bouncin’ and Behavin’ Blogs
8 min readMar 18, 2023
Photo by Liza Polyanskaya on Unsplash

Thunder rumbling like the roar of thousand lions. The sky was getting darker over time. The wind was becoming heavier than usual. The lantern that was hanging on the ceiling of my porch took the place of a pendulum inside a wall clock but a violent one. It seemed like it was about to fall off its hook.

The power went down as I was expecting it to happen. At times like these, it is usual that the power goes off. I was glad because I had a power backup for my house. It was around 10 at night, the time when the entire neighbourhood goes to sleep. I was sitting near the closed window made of glass, peeking outside waiting for Neela.

She was working late and told me she would come home by 10. The rain slowly started replacing the cloud’s roar. Droplets fell on the window leaving a trial of their path to the ground. It took pace over time completely replacing the thunder. The rain was heavier than usual. Was it a cyclone again?

Fortunately, I couldn’t turn on my television as there was not enough power in my backup. My phone lit up with vibration. It must be Neela. When I took the phone there was a message in my inbox from an unknown number. “Meet me outside.” I was confused, a dozen questions circling through my mind.

My Curiosity triggered me to go out to look who was that stranger. But my commonsense warned me to dare to go out. In the battle of wits, eventually, my curiosity won which made me take an umbrella and go out. I put on my sports sneakers as it was nasty out there due to rain with a torch in one hand. Out there it was a terrible rain.

The lantern which was clinging to the ceiling was broken down into pieces. The wind must have blown it away. It took roughly ten steps to reach the main gate. It was pitch black outside, there was no moon, and the only source of vision was my torchlight. My phone lit up again this time it was a prolonged vibration. A call from that stranger. I swiped down to answer the call.

“Check your mailbox.” Said the stranger. It was a woman on the other end.

“Hey, who are you?” I asked before he cut the call. There was a postbox attached to the main gate made of iron and painted red. It has an inlet for letters and packages on top and you have to open it bottom to retrieve whatever you got.

There was a package inside that box with my name mentioned. It seemed like a usual package but something felt odd about that package. I opened the outer cover to reveal another from inside. It was written

The truth you must know. Only you…

When I was about to open that package, I heard the doorbell. Someone was there at the doorstep.

The sudden knock at the door gave me a heart attack. The humidity inside the room brought down some droplets of sweat from my forehead. I left that package open on the couch and went for the door. Someone was pounding the door so hard.

“Hey, why couldn’t you use the calling bell?” I shouted. Suddenly they stopped pounding. When I went near the door to unlock it, I heard someone screening outside in an eerie voice. That shook me like I was in the heart of an earthquake.

Aaahhhhhhh…..Eeeeeeeee…

What the fuck? Who was it? Was it Neela? a dozen of questions crossed my head. Shit, it was like some psychic maniac screaming at my doorstep. I peeked out through the keyhole. There was none out there. Was it Neela playing tricks on me? With ample hesitation, I unlocked the door and slowly opened it to peek outside.

It seemed like the rain lost some pace, water dripping down from the edge of the ceiling forming a small pool under it. The passage was slippery due to the rain. I took every step forward with loads of fear. My hands were trembling. Was it the cold or the fear causing my hands to tremble? Maybe both I guess. The power didn’t come back yet. It was pitch black outside. I was finding my way with the help of my mobile torch.

Out of blue, I heard some noise from inside my house. Shit, I left the door open. I made my steps inside with hesitation. It was creepy being inside. The power backup went off. It was supposed to give power till sunrise. The mobile in my hand was the only source of light. The rattling noise from the kitchen wasn’t stopping. It might be some filthy cat inside. But, what if that was something else making that noise?

I crouched my way toward the kitchen door. Adding more surprise, the door was closed. A sudden noise behind me shook my nerve. It was the goddamn radio. After a few seconds, I heard someone talking on the radio. It was a girl, who seemed like a child.

Can you see me? Hello? Can you find me? Can you find me? I’m here. behind you, look. Behind you. I’m behind you. I am right behind you.

This thrilled me because that radio stopped working years ago. It was there in remembrance of my mom. I was scared and about to run away from that place. But the girl continued talking.

Don’t be scared. I just wanna play a game with you. Hey, don’t you run away. Please stay. Stay with me. If you don’t come and play with me, we will kill you. Hehehe… hmmmm… hmm… hmmmmmm… hmmmm… the humming continued.

It was extremely creepy to listen to. Then the girl started singing something.

Incy wincy spider went up the water spout

Down came the rain and washed the spider out

Out came the sun and dried up all the rain

So, incy wincy spider went up the water spout again

Incy wincy spider went up the water spout

Down came the rain and washed the spider out

Out came the sun and dried up all the rain

So, incy wincy spider went up the water spout again

Hehehe… hehehe… hehehehehe… The eerie laugh continued and she started humming again as same as she hummed before.

Now come and find me you pathetic fuck. She shouted in a voice of an adult woman whose vocal cords are brutally damaged. My clothes went wet again. This time it wasn’t the rain. The sweat from my body soaked my clothes and my hands started trembling. I could not hold my mobile in my hands. Suddenly I felt a woman’s hand pressing on my shoulder.

“Hey, why are you standing here?” asked the woman from behind. I sighed with relief and took a deep breath. It was Neela standing behind me. Her presence gave me some relief. It was still dark. “I’ll go check the power backup. You get yourself seated on the couch,” said Neela. Oh shit! The package. I rushed to the couch and took the package. Inside, there was an envelope with a red seal. I found a parchment inside the envelope. There was something written in that envelope.

Come play with me

Fear consumed my head. I felt something wrong is gonna happen tonight. Who wrote this to me? Who was that girl who called me earlier? I took my phone to find her number in the call log. The number was gone. There were no calls to my number. The message I got from that woman also went missing.

The sky started rumbling with thunder and the light from the lightning peeked inside through the windows.

I was nervous sitting on that couch. It’s creepy being there alone. It’s been 30 minutes and Neela didn’t show up. I called her out, sitting on that couch. I somehow felt safe on that couch rather than being in someplace in the house. All that fell in my ears were the water dripping from the roof and trees outside and the horrible thunder. “Neela? what happened? Are you there?” I shouted. There was no response from her.

Unwillingly, I stood off the couch, hugging myself and rubbing my arms, I went searching for her. I sneaked all the way to the room where we set up our power backup with ample fear. When I went near the room, I heard a creepy noise. It was like someone chanting inside the room and there was this yellowish light coming out from inside. It seemed like candlelight. What the fuck? We don’t have candles in this house. The fear inside me reached its threshold.

My eyes got widened with terror and I heard my own heartbeat. It was like someone kept my heart near my ears. I opened the door slowly, calling out her name. There she was standing in the corner of the room, I was surprised to see no candles inside. What is happening here? I am sure it was candlelight. I slowly went near her.

The closer I went, the higher my heartbeat was. I touched her shoulder calling out her name. There was no movement on her. Her body was cold. The thunder outside was as loud as a bomb. I was nervous and a part of me was frozen with fear. I tilted my light near her. Oh shit! What is this? Is this blood?

When I tilted my head upwards, Neela was not there. “Neela? are you there?” I shouted from where I was standing. I heard nothing except the rain and thunder around me. With hesitation and fear, I went near the door. I saw a shadow on the ground.

Someone is standing by the window. I sneaked out of the room. Neela, what are you doing here? Are you alright? She was holding a knife in her hand. All I could see was the silhouette of my wife. Her hair was loosely tied and wet. She was breathing heavily, tilting her head forty-five degrees left. She slowly came near me. It ain’t Neela. What’s happening here?

I stepped backward for each step she took toward me. My heart was pounding like it was about to come out tearing my chest and breaking my ribs. After a few steps, I eventually reached the wall. Shit! Am I gonna die tonight?

“Hey? Neela? what the fuck is wrong with you? Put that goddamn knife down.” I shouted.

She came towards me with a demonic smile on her face. I was frozen, still standing in the same place. Gradually, I heard the voice of the young girl once again. Which I heard on the radio. But, this time, it came from Neela’s mouth. She came closer, singing the incy wincy spider poem, and pointed the knife at my eyeballs.

--

--

Bharath T V
Bouncin’ and Behavin’ Blogs

A budding writer who had written a few short stories with the aspiration of becoming a well known writer in the society.