Sinead Used Her Voice For Justice

Nothing Compares 2 U, Sinead O’Connor

From One Social Justice Warrior to Another, Rest in Peace

Jason Provencio
Bouncin’ and Behavin’ Blogs
5 min readJul 27, 2023

--

Sinead was talented and beautiful. She taught us a thing or two about social justice. Photo: Wikimedia Commons

Yesterday was a tragic day for fans of music and social justice. I felt the loss as soon as I read the headline. Sinead O’Connor had passed away, at 56 years old.

This made me sad. Though I wasn’t as shocked to hear about Sinead’s passing as I was about other musicians, it still hurt. Sometimes you hear of a tortured soul’s passing and you feel relief for them. Though it’s a tragedy when almost anyone dies, it’s also sometimes not that surprising. She had endured so much pain over the years.

The earliest memories I have of Sinead O’Connor certainly go back to MTV and VH1. Her mega-hit song originally written by the immortal Prince, “Nothing Compares 2 U” was everywhere. I heard it on the radio constantly. She had a soft yet powerful angelic voice that was perfect for that hit song.

Then I saw the music video for the song. To me, her looks matched her voice. She had a beautiful face framed with the shortest haircut you’d find on just about any popular female singer in 1990. She reminded me of Winona Ryder, that flawless bone structure coupled with those big, sad, soulful eyes.

--

--

Jason Provencio
Bouncin’ and Behavin’ Blogs

Award-winning writer and wildlife photographer. Social Justice supporter, LGBTQ ally and Dad. Owner of Bouncin’ and Behavin’ Blogs. &:^)