Oh My Effing God! I’ve Decided To Become A Vegan!

It’s all your fault, Pala, for making me watch those documentaries (okay, just joking).

Patrice Walker
Bouncin’ and Behavin’ Blogs

--

Pizza topped with spinach
Now that looks delish! As long as it’s not a cauliflower crust, ugh! And no cheese, darn! Photo by engin akyurt on Unsplash

In fact, I have to thank Pala Najana for recommending two YouTube documentaries (see below) on vegan and whole-food, plant-based eating. Talk about eye openers! Oh my goodness!

What’s happening to me now reminds me of when I became a vegetarian back in the mid-’70s. I’m sure I’ve mentioned this elsewhere in one or more of my other stories. But my then boyfriend, Tony (RIP), and I attended a talk given by comedian-turned-activist, Dick Gregory, who lectured on the virtues, both health and ethical, of becoming a vegetarian.

So Tony and I took him up on his challenge and decided to give vegetarianism a try. Long story short, we gave up meat and fish but couldn’t let go of dairy and eggs. I even had a baby in 1980 while on a vegetarian diet and lasted several years after that.

However, it was difficult in those days because there weren’t a lot of restaurants that served vegetarian meals when I traveled for work. On these trips, when it was time to go out for dinner, my co-workers would always say, with some frustration , “Okay, Patrice, where can you eat?”

--

--

Patrice Walker
Bouncin’ and Behavin’ Blogs

I'm a Boomer who loves to write, crochet, explore metaphysics, & walk the beaches of O'ahu. Paywall-free links to my stories at https://ko-fi.com/patricewalker