Polite Politics

That game we play as to not offend. I might need some practice.

AAAMCWB
Bouncin’ and Behavin’ Blogs
2 min readMar 12, 2023

--

Photo by RepentAnd SeekChristJesus on Unsplash

Polite politics. It’s that game many Americans play in public when dealing with someone who says something of a political nature, with which they do not agree. It’s a game many liberally minded people have learned how to play with some finesse here in the red states of the Midwest. It’s a game I see played often in this conservative, small, Missouri town in which I live. It’s a game I never learned how to play.

As the editor of a small-town newspaper, I often attend events most Americans wouldn’t consider a “big ticket” draw. I recently attended a senior luncheon I featured in an article for the newspaper. It was at this luncheon the following conversation took place. I wasn’t part of the conversation that led up to the following exchange, but as I approached the table, I heard Mrs. Davenport commenting on racism. As I took a seat, I took the liberty of joining Mrs. Davenport in a brief exchange about racism.

Mrs. Davenport: “Oh I get so tired of hearing those people complain about not being treated equally in this country.”

Me: “Oh, so do I, Mrs. Davenport.”

Mrs. Davenport: “Why, it’s just horrible, Patrik. It seems like every time I turn on the television, there is another one of those people — some Black person complaining about how they were discriminated against. It’s just endless.”

Me: “I know. I’m tired of it, too. But you know what I am even more tired of than hearing Black people complain about not being treated equally in this country, Mrs. Davenport?”

Mrs. Davenport: “What is that?”

Me: “Black people not being treated equally in this country.”

Mrs. Davenport glared at me like I was the spawn of Satan. I smiled.

Me: “It seems like every time I turn on the television, there is another story of a Black person who was discriminated against. It’s endless.”

Mrs. Davenport continued her death stare.

Me: “Well, you asked.” I smiled again. “Bon Appetit, Mrs. Davenport.”

Polite politics, it’s a game we play where we don’t rock the boat. Patrik politics, it’s a game I play where I tip the boat over.

--

--

AAAMCWB
Bouncin’ and Behavin’ Blogs

An average, all-American, middle-class, white boy. Who I am is secondary to how I make you feel. How I make you feel is the reason I write.