Quack on Quack Medicine

You’re promoting what now?

Dr. John Swayne, M.D.
Bouncin’ and Behavin’ Blogs
2 min readSep 28, 2022

--

Photo by saeed karimi on Unsplash

What do you do when you’re a medical professional and another medical professional starts doing something questionable? What if it was an entire department?

The very idea of promoting interventions or procedures with questionable scientific backing makes me sick. If you go back to the opioid epidemic you’ll find a ridiculous amount of questionable medical data and practices by Purdue to sell more of its opioid-based drugs.

Photo by Roberto Sorin on Unsplash

While highly illegal and immoral, it’s what I’ve come to expect from major corporations where money is the ultimate goal. It makes me sick to think about people making decisions that will knowingly harm other people, but there we are.

Medical professionals, actual hands-on-the-patient medical people, also choose money over the health of their patients. That I cannot understand.

Photo by Yogendra Singh on Unsplash

It’s no wonder why people don’t trust doctors or medicine in general. How can I tell people to get their flu and covid shots with one hand, and convince them that the other thing they wanted isn’t indicated? Who are they to believe?

It is beyond frustrating and I don’t really know what to do about it.

I hope you trust your doctors and nurses. I hope they have your best intentions at heart. Still, make sure you read up on whatever it is they’re offering you. Ask questions. Learn about your ailments and diseases. I try my best to educate patients that come to see me. I take time to explain to them why they’ve been sent to my clinic.

Read.
Learn.
And Live.

--

--

Dr. John Swayne, M.D.
Bouncin’ and Behavin’ Blogs

A doctor working and living abroad. Trying my hand at making writing more than just a hobby. I write about medical things, life and being a better writer.