Quarantine Cooking

Ekta Wadhwa
Bouncin’ and Behavin’ Blogs
2 min readAug 25, 2022

What I saw in the pictures vs. what I made at home

WHAT I SAW : Photo by Jason Leung on Unsplash

The pandemic and quarantine anxiety made everyone look for some solace and peace. Cooking was the only viable and safer option; even those who barely entered kitchens tried some recipes to keep themselves busy. But soon this became a social media trend and watching videos of new recipes every day became irritating. Irritating because the expectations of my family skyrocketed.

They wanted something new, delicious, and tasty every day. Something that I missed the most during the lockdown was the “yellow school bus”; online classes made kids more demanding in terms of food variety.

Remember the “Dalgona Coffee”? It became a superstar overnight and vanished after it was tried in every household. I was amazed by the eating and digesting capacity of my family; the so-called healthy eaters were always ready to hog.

Throughout the day I use to watch these easy-to-make recipes (they are anything but easy) that used fifty ingredients on earth. Watching the competitive culinary challenge takes you to another world; a world of sparkling stainless steel kitchen, thousands of ingredients, and lots of drama.

Grocery was the only delight in our lives; something all looked forward to. With double masks, gloves, and sanitizers, I use to go grocery shopping. I would think of the recipe that I watched before leaving the house and soon my inner voice would take over asking me to LEAVE IT.

All phone conversations were about who got Covid and who made what. I had to find a solution; I would show them a picture of a beautiful recipe and serve what I could manage. The family would be waiting for the latest at the dining table but usually found the routine.

Arguing with an overworked lady is also dangerous for health. I admit that after a few days of lockdown I made it a point to block and unfollow the “foodies” to avoid any peer pressure and unrealistic expectations.

WHAT I MADE😁 : Photo by Kevin McCutcheon on Unsplash

My kitchen quote was also updated; it said “TAKE IT OR LEAVE IT”. With everything shut, Take it was the only option. I have never felt so powerful before.

--

--

Ekta Wadhwa
Bouncin’ and Behavin’ Blogs

Writing and reading about daily life experiences that are simple yet impactful