Redefining My Career Path

Naomi Muthoni
Bouncin’ and Behavin’ Blogs
3 min readSep 21, 2023
Photo by Tim Swaan on Unsplash

I have recently realized that I romanticize “the complete story.” “What is the complete story,” you might ask. To me, a story is complete only when it has a happy ending. A happy ending makes the story worth telling. It makes the story complete. By that logic, if a story lacks what I perceive as a happy ending, it is not worth telling!

Over the past three weeks, I have questioned my perception of stories worth telling. Why? I am facing the big, bad change monster. As someone who has not yet mastered “change acceptance” despite life’s dynamic nature, any variation from the norm scares me. If I am honest, it paralyzes me. I find myself incapable of thinking straight and taking proactive action. “The consequence (s),” you ask? STAGNATION!

It has been 7+ years since I started my writing career. At its inception, necessity curved the path I took. I was fresh out of campus with an undisputable need for an income. I needed to earn a living, and freelance writing came easy to me. Even better, it allowed me to work from home and fattened my accounts. So, I started my journey. Exploring my talent. Honing my skills. Learning new writing styles. Compiling reports. Completing tasks and sharing knowledge. Rinse and repeat!

I have found myself stuck in a repetitive cycle of work patterns. The same old jobs. No new challenges. Tasks that I can complete in my sleep. Pay that was initially enough, but can no longer sustain my needs thanks to inflation and increasing personal responsibilities.

By that logic, if I am to continue exploring my writing passion, I must change my job sourcing criteria. I must seek opportunities that challenge my existing knowledge — tasks, and jobs that prompt learning and growth. I must find clients and employers who offer better compensation packages — pay that aligns with my expertise and satisfactorily keeps the lights on!

So, you see, I find myself at a point where I must redefine my career path. I must face the big, bad change monster to alleviate my career STAGNATION! My fears of failure and inadequacy are keeping me up at night. It is a do-or-die situation! I am between the rock that is the boring and repetitive work patterns; and the hard place of change acceptance, initiation, and completion.

This is the story of how I found myself on LinkedIn, creating and optimizing a profile, on the hunt for new opportunities. It is my attempt at facing the change I need to redefine my career path.

As you can tell, there is no happy ending. At least not yet! But I have decided to tell this story because I realize there is value in the process and beauty in a story in its incompleteness.

In Sam Fischer’s words, “I’m gonna be alright!” You will be too!

Photo by Maxime Horlaville on Unsplash

If you liked this piece, don’t forget to clap and leave a comment. Most importantly, I would appreciate a follow from you. I promise to keep you entertained!

You can also check out more articles by me at https://medium.com/@naomimuthoni871

--

--

Naomi Muthoni
Bouncin’ and Behavin’ Blogs

Versatile Writer; Aspiring Author; Researcher; Mental Health Champion & Advocate; Proud Mother & Unapologetic Mil-Gen Z