Releasing From Within — A Poem

Words From A Dot
Bouncin’ and Behavin’ Blogs
2 min readJun 16, 2024

--

Image by Anne Nygård on Unsplash

Wishing for happiness is a sorrowful quest.
Wishing for joy, serenity, and peace, creates an incomprehensible tempest.

In my heart, loneliness battles and rages on.
It seeks a fire that does not know how to keep calm.

Wanting comfort in a true love’s arms, seems silly to me.
How can I stop wanting a feeling that comes so naturally?

I look into my supposed love’s eyes, and see his frustrated smiles,
His struggle to be caring, understanding and one of a kind.

We lay in bed, as he hugs me close, telling me I am first true love.
I gasp in denial, as he shrugs at my rebuff.

That we haven’t explored each other’s depths is a regret he will never get over,
It makes my heart heavy, and feel so much colder.

I hear his confusion and feel his pain,
It cuts me like a knife through butter, an incomprehensible experience all in vain.

I am scared to give him what I cannot give,
Because it feels like it should be given to the person I am meant to be with.

--

--