Religion is Likely the Biggest and Most Harmful Patriarchy

The culprit isn’t God, but men

--

Image generated with AI∙ May 28, 2024 at 11:21 AM | via Bing Copilot using author’s prompt

I am over at my parents’ house for our son’s summer vacation. My parents are quite religious and spiritual – being conscious of the significant difference between the two terms.

They’ve got a nice little corner room for a “mandir” or the Hindi word for a temple. Both my 5-year-old son and 1-year-old daughter love joining grandpa and grandma for their daily prayers.

I enjoy seeing them too – peaceful and calm – quite unlike their otherwise extremely active selves.

I happen to be a Hindu by birth, and having had no strong allegiance or objections to the religion, I continue to be a Hindu – mostly defined by birth and select beliefs – rather than any radical views for or against religion.

As I looked around the mandir I realised how male-dominated the Hindu religion is.

Of course, there are numerous Hindu goddesses – Durga, Lakshmi, Parvati, and so on, but is the diversity real or more of an eyewash, akin to modern-day workplace diversity?

Let’s look at some more facts.

The Hindu religion at its core is defined by the trinity – Brahma – the creator, Vishnu – the nurturer, and Shiva – the destroyer.

--

--

Pranshu "Maverick" Dwivedi
Bouncin’ and Behavin’ Blogs

Stay-at-home-dad who "retired" from a 12-year career in finance at the age of 35. Curious thinker with an opinion on nearly everything and is here to share it.