Politics | Identity | LGBTQ+ | Racism

Respectability Politics: Who Defines What Normal Is?

There is no ‘default’ human being

Sam W.
Bouncin’ and Behavin’ Blogs
7 min readJan 3, 2024

--

A very fine white porcelain tea set, edges and handles picked out in gold.
Way too fancy for my house, believe me. | Photo by Rodolfo Marques on Unsplash

We all feel a need for approval and validation from those around us.

Did that sentance put your hackles up? Did it make you uncomfortable, angry, defiant or sad? I know how that feels. I spent a lot of my youth absolutely rebelling against the idea that I should care what anyone thought about me.

In my case, I rebelled so hard because I felt the lack of acceptance from my peers so keenly.

I was an undiagnosed autistic girl, unknowingly asexual, and I had no idea why people treated me so differently. I had no idea what it was about me that set me apart.

I struggled to read and follow the typical norms of social interaction. I had no concept of what a crush was, let alone why all of my friends kept badgering me to share mine or calling me a prude when I said I didn’t have any.

At first I tried to hide my differences by just following their lead. I mimicked my friends’ behavior, taking on their mannerisms and trying to dress like they did. I pretended to have a celebrity crush just so I had something to say when the subject came up.

--

--

Sam W.
Bouncin’ and Behavin’ Blogs

9x Top Writer. Opinion pieces about human rights and activism. Enjoying my work? I also host a weekly newsletter and biweekly podcast at World-Weary.com.