VERSE

Resurrection

Natasha MH
Bouncin’ and Behavin’ Blogs
3 min readDec 16, 2022

--

Photo by Colin Lloyd on Unsplash

Keeping Me Alive Bob Moses

“I’ve lost my way
Hard to find my feet on the ground
Day after day
Looking for the easy way out
What will it take
To pick me up when I’m going down?
Throw me away
Start it from the inside out”

She walks out from the steamed bathroom
Filled with scattered pieces of lime and flower petals
Cleansed from the salt waters and smoked camphor
The ancestral ritual for rebirth

The room lingers with a newly released femininity
An infused scent of blended bergamot and jasmine
That’s now the scent of yesterday.

“You’re my escape
You hide me from the fear that I found
Take me away
Don’t give me up ’cause I’m going down
Won’t you come and take me higher?
I try to find all the trouble that keeps weighing on my mind
When I’m running through the fire, losing sight
You’re the only thing that’s keeping me alive”

She looks at the vials of rare oud
frankincense
and damask rose
She had kept them hidden with reason

She had among the rarest and most expensive
because he told her she only deserved
what was hardest to obtain
Like what she was to him

She pulls out a black lacy teddy
Sprays her Chanel №5 between her thighs
and on the contours of her neck

The day had come to stop running.

She didn’t need a tattoo to remind who she was
She was a Glock19
Codename Glock19 of Alexa

365 days she has been on the run

“Won’t you come and take me higher?
I try to find all the trouble that keeps weighing on my mind
When I’m running through the fire, losing sight
You’re the only thing that’s keeping me alive”

Two years he said, I’ll give you freedom
to taste the ordinary
to walk among the living
“And then you return to me”

You cannot run from your destiny
From what I’ve groomed you to be

Remember you belong to me
You belong to me
You can’t escape me
You’re Glock19 of Alexa
Underboss

“Won’t you come and take me higher?
I try to find all the trouble that keeps weighing on my mind
When I’m running through the fire, losing sight
You’re the only thing that’s keeping me alive”

You can hide but you cannot run from me
I made you
I will return to take what belongs to me

One year, Alexa. One year left.
Your place is ready beside me.
I suggest you be ready to take it.

One year left, Alexa
One year to taste the ordinary

No more running.
No more running.
No more running.

Remember what’s keeping you alive.

Coming out of the dark. Photo of author circa 2021

--

--