Science Behind Listening to the Same Song On Repeat

It is a mix of science and feelings

Pallavi Goswami
Bouncin’ and Behavin’ Blogs
3 min readFeb 5, 2024

--

Photo by Elice Moore on Unsplash

I have been listening to Amistat’s Seasons on repeat for days. It was not the first time I was struck by a song, I do this often, let the song consume me before letting it go.

And then I asked myself,

“Why do I do it? “

And then I convinced myself that, “I am sure I am not the only one.” Right?

You do it too, right?

Get struck by a song?

And listen to it on repeat until you cannot.

Please say yes!

While we have a vague idea why we do it, I decided to deep dive further to see if there is some scientific reason behind it or not.

Turns out, it is a little bit of science and a little bit of emotion.

The whole story begins with the love for music.

Studies reveal that listening to music releases the happy hormone dopamine. This is further combined with our brain’s ability to find ecstasy in recognizing patterns, music being one of them.

As the brain can recognize emotions in speech such as sadness, happiness, and anger, it starts to associate with those emotions through music.

So, when you resonate with one song more than the other, chances are that your brain is associating your current state of emotions with music.

It helps you recognize your true feelings.

It is the same reason that in a good mood, you listen to a happy song on repeat. However, talk about a breakup, your playlist will be dominated by that one sad song.

The other reason you play a song on repeat is because it helps you evoke the same feelings on repeat and face them. You find thrill in reliving the ecstasy and comfort of coming to terms with your not-so-happy feelings.

Once you are saturated with those emotions, you let the song go.

So you are listening to one song not only because it is a vibe match, but also because that song helps you recognize your true feelings and live them as much as possible.

That song is a big part of your identity.

There is a song my sister and I listen to because it is our song, our vibe, it helps us connect deeply. Some songs become extra special because they carry a meaning or a special memory that you share with your loved ones.

You keep going to those songs because you are looking for comfort.

The seasonal impact

“All I want for Christmas is you…”

Right, the seasons have a huge impact on your playlist too. The holiday seasons, summer, spring, etc., as the seasons change bring back some timeless songs that stay for a long time before leaving again.

In summary, you are listening to the same song again and again because-

1. The brain recognizes patterns in music and associates those patterns with emotions.

2. It helps you recognize your true feelings

3. It is a big part of your identity

4. The seasonal impact

Which song are you listening to these days? Would love some suggestions.

TC,

P.

--

--

Pallavi Goswami
Bouncin’ and Behavin’ Blogs

Product and Data Science Professional | Sharing Stories From My Life Experiences