Seasonal Depression Doesn’t Have to Give You the Winter Blues

You can survive the dark winter months by changing your daily routine.

Lorna Harvey
Bouncin’ and Behavin’ Blogs

--

Image by the author via Canva

I watched a video of Jim Carrey talking about depression. He mentioned that “depression is your body saying I don’t want to be this character anymore. I don’t want to hold up this Avatar that you’ve created in the world, and it’s too much for me right now” (video below).

This got me thinking about people suffering from the “winter blues.” I wondered if what helps us have a happier disposition in the winter could help us all year around.

The more popular term for the illness known as SAD (Seasonal Affective Disorder) is “seasonal depression.” Repeatedly occurring throughout the late fall and winter, SAD is a type of depression. Despite popular assumptions, seasonal depression can be effectively avoided well before symptoms appear.

A Few Suggestions to Prevent Seasonal Depression:

1. Find a Way to Get More Sun: Invest in sunlamps that simulate solar radiation. One of the most highly advised therapies for seasonal depression is light therapy.

The price range for sunlamps is $100 to $250. But a bundle of three of the unique sunlamp replacement bulbs can be purchased for…

--

--

Lorna Harvey
Bouncin’ and Behavin’ Blogs

I’m a blogger, writer, and interested in helping people find answers for living their best life. I also write on https://www.createthebestlife.com/.