So I Gave of Myself…

Can I ask you a question?

--

Image by Stefan Schweihofer from Pixabay

In your previous love relationship did you “need” the person you chose to be with, or did they need to be with you?

Can you remember?

You see, I asked because most love relationships between consenting adults usually start off from a place of lack or a place of needing to be with someone because you’ve placed your excitement, happiness, or love outside yourself.

Recently I saw an article citing how Self Love is the key to being in a healthy love relationship

And I understood it quickly because it reminded me of someone…myself

But as I read on I thought of different people as well

Well, let me tell you what I meant when I titled this article “So I Gave of Myself”

There are two dominant mentalities we express ourselves through, and these are:

  • Abundance mentality

And

  • Lack Mentality

An abundant mindset attracts positive experiences and opens our minds to learning about ourselves and the “other self”

The mentality of lack is that of desperation, or craving usually caused by a lack of understanding, and this mentality attracts negative experiences — this is the law of attraction

Previously I used to approach love relationships from a place of need, why? Because I wanted to be adored by another (Yes, adoration was my own craving)

I placed this adoration in the hands of others and really loved them because they adored me, and on the days when I wasn’t assured of their adoration, I went mad and didn’t love them so much

So you see how needy the love I was expressing was, in fact, it wasn’t love, it was attachment not to them but their adoration (I’m not very good at being attached to people, but that’s a story for another day)

I decided to try something different and approach my expression of love as a gift giving of myself

This mentality wasn’t built in a day, I realized all the things I wanted from others I could give myself, and when I gave it to myself I felt whole not looking to receive but full of love to give.

And I started giving of myself, not worried about what happens next, not worried whether I’m loved or not, and not worried whether I’m adored.

Why?

I know I’m whole, and the more love I give the more love I’m able to radiate.

I’m grateful I came across resources that helped me develop this mindset and started putting it into practice.

I’m overflowing, so I give of myself, what about you?

Peace and love my friend!

Thank you for reading, please if you found this piece inspiring or valuable and want to support me as I tell my story, then please feel free to do so here, greatly appreciate your love and support!

--

--

Illuminated By Intuition
Bouncin’ and Behavin’ Blogs

Walking the path to transcend limiting beliefs, manifest prosperity, and sharing content as I go ✨