SPOTIFY | MUSIC | TOP 20–11

Spotify Top 100 in 10 Days! 9th Day

Let’s listen together! Part 9/10

Jennifer Barrios Tettay
Bouncin’ and Behavin’ Blogs

--

template from canva

Every year, Spotify compiles the most listened songs in a personal playlist! Here is mine — the places from 20 to 11. ❤️

20: Totuus Vapauttaa by Marko Hietala

“The truth sets you free”. A very nice song by Nightwish’s ex band member Marko Hietala. The complete album, on which this track can be found, is also available in English. I personally just like Finnish better, though.

19: Victoria’s Secret (Acoustic) by Sonata Arctica

This track from 2003, like many others, was re-recorded for the Acoustic album. It’s a song that I usually just hum along to silently.

18: Tierras Del Sur by Rubén Kelsen ft. Javi Javat & Pablo Romero

I know Rubén Kelsen from a duet with the Spanish folk metal band Celtian. I liked his voice so much that I actively searched for other songs by him.

This is one of them. There will be another one tomorrow in the Top 10.

17: Solitude by Valhalore

The folk metal band Valhalore from Australia, we’ve already had in the Top 100 before — if it continues like this, we’ll soon have all continents of the earth covered, by the way.

Last time, I listed their song “A Rose for Epona”, which is actually known by Eluveitie.

With “Solitude” the band plays a beautiful ballad with medieval/Viking flair.

16: Hail To The King (Acoustic Cover) by Melodicka Bros

I don’t think a Spotify episode goes by without this cover band, but that’s not surprising. Melodicka Bros simply make very diverse music and revive old classics in a new and creative way that no one knew before.

15: Broken (Acoustic) by Sonata Arctica

Although we are dealing with the same song title, this track has nothing in common with the namesake of Seether and Amy Lee.

I love “Broken.” And probably this is one of the most underrated songs of Sonata Arctica. Or — maybe it’s just me and my unconventional taste in music.

14: My Selene by Kotipelto & Liimatainen

Actually, I already knew the song from my favorite, Sonata Arctica. But this band also renders “Selene” in a beautiful way.

Nocturnal poetry: Dressed in the whitest silver, you’d smile at me

The song was actually written by an ex-band member of Sonata Arctica. But apparently, vocalist Toni Kakko wanted to go in a new direction, which caused them to part ways.

I personally like both the old songs and the newer (calmer) direction.

On the album of the band Kotipelto there are quite a few cover versions from the power metal genre.

13: Frost Upon Their Graves by Crimfall

We haven’t had enough Finnish talent on this list yet (by far, not enough!). Crimfall delivers power/Viking metal and a great female vocalist on top of that.

12: Dragonborn by Trick Or Treat

This Dragonborn version of an Italian metal band is still relatively “young”. And at 0:57 I was blown away!

If this Spotify Top 100 proves one thing, it’s that Italians show quite some talent too! And not only in the metal genre. There are, for example, the numerous titles of Melodicka Bros.

11: Gravenimage (Acoustic) by Sonata Arctica

This song is definitely one of my favorites. Always, especially in the original, which is also rather slow. “Gravenimage” has some of the most beautiful lyrics…

I play a note but hear no sound

And its original in particular develops a remarkable dynamic as it progresses.

And tomorrow is the FINAL episode with places 10–9 of this Spotify series!

Spotify Top 100 Most Listened Songs 2022

10 stories

--

--