Stop Writing New Year Resolutions and Start Writing This Instead

A new twist to start your new year…

Mishel Noor
Bouncin’ and Behavin’ Blogs
4 min readJan 1, 2023

--

Photo by Maja Il on Unsplash

I have nothing against New Year Resolutions. Everyone is motivated differently, so if you have one lined up, go for it, and good luck! I applaud people who focus on specific goals to kick off their year. This year though, I wanted to do something a little different.

The past few years, ::: six to be exact :::, life has kicked my ass, and you know what? I Fought BACK! I can confidently say without the slightest hesitation, “I am Healed!” I feel good, ya’ll. Like, so damn good! While sitting in the gym parking lot, I had a good, happy-cry on the phone with my Aunt today. There’s nothing like telling the people you love the most, who stuck by you from day one, that you have overcome that trying time and that their love and support were instrumental in your healing.

While my loving Aunt poured words of affirmation and congratulations onto me, I thought about how I always write my way into the new year. I knew I wanted to write about this moment we were sharing, but I decided to do it uniquely. In keeping with my personal tradition, I’ve put a different spin on my yearly reflections and new year's resolutions. In fact, I won’t be reflecting at all; this year, I’m looking forward, literally.

--

--

Mishel Noor
Bouncin’ and Behavin’ Blogs

Soft Life Advocate, Light Bearer, Planter of Seeds, Repeller of Negativity…Unpopular Opinion Holder. I have a lot to say, about about a lot things. Here Goes.