VERSE

Tango Con El Diablo

Natasha MH
Bouncin’ and Behavin’ Blogs
3 min readDec 17, 2022

--

Photo by Anasta Olson on Unsplash

My Love by Kovacs

“Babe, don’t try to call
My heart is ticking and the show, just won’t wait
It’s strange, you couldn’t see it my way, hey, now go
I pray for you to fall
The spark has died and now you’re just too late
A shame, you’re knocking at the wrong gate, hey, go
Come what may
I won’t give away
My love, diamond rings and Chevrolets
My love, aces high and cigarettes
My love, faking all like Hollywood
My love, love, love

No way you’ll see me crawl”

He commands you to return
without contesting
after what happened in December.
You know the more difficult you make this
the more it amuses Him
It’s imperative you start making preparations.

You know He likes the hunt, Consigliere
I’m not being difficult.
I am difficult.
He knows it.
That’s His thrill.

“Like a shark, I’ll be ripping you apart and celebrate
With lots of champagne
You caught me on the wrong day, now you know”

The sanctions will be uplifted
When it’s announced through the media
That’s the marker
Everyone is ordered to return to the safehouse

Finally, this Ukraine-Russia charade will cease, Consigliere?
Everyone’s had their fill?

So will yours, Padrona.

Next year won’t have the liberty to feel as long as the last
When the time is near
you know He’ll send the men for you
You’ll be given the signal.

Marcus, again? Or has he been replaced?

Marcus is covering Eastern Europe with the President
His father Olivier has been entrusted to your protection
Direct orders from Him
He trusts no one else
But I should warn you
Olivier looks rather ghastly
from the recent scars

“My love, no more whiskey and cocaine
My love, ending all forbidden fruit
My love, love, love
Ashes to ashes, dust to dust
No you can’t amuse me, so leave you must
Ashes to ashes, dust to dust”

So tell me Consigliere,
after two years,
What face will He be wearing to welcome me?

He said He wants to surprise you.

Correction, Consigliere. He is going to test me.

You know He will, Padrona.
For now I advise you to grow out your hair
You know how He feels about this.
Precisely why I had it pixied, Consigliere.
Precisely.

Spying into the conversation, smoking his cigar from his leather divan, He smiles.

“If the spell won’t kill you, your ego does
My love, diamond rings and Chevrolets
My love, no more tears and no regrets
My love, time to lay the man to rest

My love, love, love”

Photo by Akram Huseyn on Unsplash

--

--