The Benefits Of Being A Nonconformist

M. Elizabeth Blair
Bouncin’ and Behavin’ Blogs
6 min readJan 15, 2024

--

Did you know that it’s closely related to critical thinking?

Photo of a person wearing identical sneakers with two different colors.
Photo by Possessed Photography on Unsplash

According to Dictionary.com, nonconformity is the failure or refusal to conform, as with established customs, attitudes, or ideas.

I have been somewhat of a nonconformist ever since I can remember.

I suspect that one of the reasons this happened is because I am highly intelligent.

When I was a girl, I heard some smart girls say that they didn’t want to act smart because the boys wouldn’t like them.

I decided that this was a dumb idea, even though I was a little bit worried. Women are sometimes scared into believing that they are going to be lonely old ladies living with their cats.

At age 64, I am an older lady living alone with her dog. It’s not that bad. I sometimes enjoy it. In my opinion, it’s not scary enough to try to change who you are.

I am still glad that I was smart. At least men aren’t rejecting me because of my looks. (just kidding!)

Here are some of the ways that nonconformity and critical thinking are interconnected:

Critical thinking involves the ability to objectively analyze and evaluate information, arguments, or situations, considering…

--

--

M. Elizabeth Blair
Bouncin’ and Behavin’ Blogs

Life-long learner. Writes about Social Issues, Psychology, Technology, and Travel. Retired Marketing Professor.