The Bitter Melancholy of Being 40 and Single at a Wedding

I’m not going to the next one unless it’s mine

Matteo Licata
Bouncin’ and Behavin’ Blogs

--

Have you ever seen a truly perfect couple?

I think I have.

And it’s a truly wonderful spectacle to witness. Probably because it’s much rarer than it should be. Two people you can clearly see vibrate at the same frequency, sharing that unique chemistry that’s as readily apparent as it is hard to define with words.

It restores your faith in humanity.

That’s why, although I’m not a fan of all the excess and pomp that usually characterizes wedding ceremonies, I was delighted to get my invitation: this definitely was a union worth celebrating, big time.

Held in the Andalusian countryside, half an hour’s drive from beautiful Seville, everything about this wedding turned out even sweeter and more beautiful than I anticipated.

Throughout the proceedings, it was hard to process the explosion of sheer joy I was feeling for my two friends, barely managing to hold back the tears.

Yet, later that night, with the party’s music pounding hard in the background, I found myself staring at the darkness outside, wistfully breathing in the fresh air of the Andalusian countryside, feeling a heavy coat of…

--

--

Matteo Licata
Bouncin’ and Behavin’ Blogs

I’ve been obsessed with cars for as long as I remember and, after working in automobile design for a decade, now I’m a lecturer, a published author, a YouTuber