The Day My Grandpa Was Involved In A Car Chase

Learning the hard way not to tie your ego to your car’s engine size.

Matteo Licata
Bouncin’ and Behavin’ Blogs

--

Photo by Logan Meis on Unsplash

My grandfather passed away in 2012.

He wasn’t the first older relative I lost, and neither has been the last.
Still, he is to this day the one whose presence I miss the most, leading me to regret not spending more time with him during his last couple of years.

Back then, I used to have a full-time job and a girlfriend from another country that I flew to see every other weekend, but who am I kidding? I could and should have found the time.

A better life

Like millions of others in 1950s Italy, Grandpa left behind his small town in the south, owning little more than the clothes he wore, to seek a better future in the north-western city of Turin, whose automobile industry was one of the main drivers of Italy’s mid-century economic boom.

He soon found work for a local entrepreneur’s wealthy family, doing pretty much anything needed at their house. Given my unhealthy obsession with all things automotive, one story from my Grandpa has always stuck with me, and here it is.

The boss’ pride and joy

--

--

Matteo Licata
Bouncin’ and Behavin’ Blogs

I’ve been obsessed with cars for as long as I remember and, after working in automobile design for a decade, now I’m a lecturer, a published author, a YouTuber