The famous ‘Lonely Top’

And the actual reason behind it.

Photo by Denys Nevozhai on Unsplash

‘It is lonely at the top.’

‘Why do people say that?’, I asked my mother while she was on her phone enjoying her cooking reels. ‘When people are successful and rich, they are surrounded by admirers and money and whatnot!’

She looked up, placed her glasses on her forehead, and said, ‘Yes. But admirers are not family and money is not love. And I don’t know what ‘whatnot’ is.’

‘You think people who are successful care about that?’ I rolled my eyes.

‘Of course! I do!’

‘You?’

‘Yaa! You don’t think I am successful? I work full-time in this house, love you all, get to spend time with you and take vacations with my friends. I am happy. I am super successful.

I take it all in and feel proud, ‘Yes!! You are.’

I continue, ‘But then you are not lonely. Why do people say that being successful is lonely?’

She answers by saying, ‘Because success comes with a little ‘smugness’. It’s natural to feel that way. But when you do it for long, it changes you. The feeling of you being proud of yourself is replaced by you feeling arrogant. And then, your ego and lack of regard for other people’s feelings can actually destroy the ‘so-called success’ that you’ve got. If you know how to control it, this quote holds no meaning.’

‘Oh wow! Impressive! Someone’s a little know-it-all’.

‘Yes, I am. And that is how you put your ‘smugness’ to good use. Now go do your work and let me watch my reels.’ She says while shifting her glasses back to her eyes from her head.

I smiled in awe while promising myself to control my ‘smugness’ when my time comes. And I hope you do too!

Until Next Time,

Toodles!

--

--

Pankhuree | Kaleidostopia
Bouncin’ and Behavin’ Blogs

I write about feelings. Truth or Fallacy? Just a matter of perspective.