The Ghosts Of My Echoism Have Been Haunting Me Lately

And it has been causing a lot of anxiety and dipping me down into a depression.

Miriam Rachel
Bouncin’ and Behavin’ Blogs
6 min readOct 8, 2022

--

Photo by Stefano Pollio on Unsplash

I will never forget one late November morning of last year. I got home from grocery shopping as I was about to put the groceries away and start working on client work. My father called in a panic and told me that my mother had a heart attack in the middle of the night. He needed me to pick up their dog to watch him and take my father to the hospital, as I wanted to see my mother in the hospital.

However, COVID-19 protocols were in place, and the hospital only allowed one visitor at a time. So though I spoke to my mother on the phone, she was okay considering what happened. But the next several months were very stressful as my mother ended up needing a double bypass, and I had to help out by running errands, caring for their dog since my father could not do it, and looking for a PSW to be on call for when my mother became released. So again, it was on my shoulders, as my brother could not be bothered.

The thing is, I notified my clients about what happened, and they were understanding because I was going to be slower to deliver their work. But it was a stressful time, and my emotions were not in a good place. Yes, that is to be expected whenever there is a family emergency…

--

--

Miriam Rachel
Bouncin’ and Behavin’ Blogs

Freelance Writer, Blogger, Virtual Assistant, Tarot Reader, and Mental Health Advocate. Owner of Tarot Talk pub among 2 others! https://beacons.ai/miriamrachel