The Google Extension We Didn’t Know We Needed

“Save the oceans by surfing the web”

Julianna
Bouncin’ and Behavin’ Blogs
2 min readAug 9, 2022

--

Photo by Nathana Rebouças on Unsplash

This Google extension is an innovative way to help stop ocean plastic pollution from home and with little to no effort!

I was watching a Youtube video when I saw an ad that promoted an easy way to help stop pollution.

Of course, I was intrigued, so I did my research and decided to download it!

Ever since then, I have been loving every second.

The extension is called OceanHero.

How does it work?

OceanHero uses a point system, or “shells”, to determine how many plastic bottles you have helped clean up simply by using the extension!

For every 100 shells you get, a plastic bottle is cleaned from the ocean. You can get 10 shells for opening a new tab or get one for every few seconds you play one of their minigames.

There are also levels based on how many shells you’ve earned!

OceanHero gets funds from advertisements, as well as donators.

It also doesn’t change much of your Chrome account; it only adds a Minigames option and a few advertisements!

You have the choice to have your background picture change to a different image of sealife with every tab you open, or it could stay the same.

Getting the extension

You can download the OceanHero extension here, and there is more information on their website.

I highly recommend downloading it! It’s free and changes barely anything on your chrome account, all while helping save the oceans.

Let me know if there are any similar extensions you use! I would be very interested in giving them a try.

Thank you for reading!

--

--

Julianna
Bouncin’ and Behavin’ Blogs

I’m a young writer here to improve my skills and support the community | Still trying to find my "writer's voice", but having fun along the way