DREAMS|MINDFULNESS

The Great Snuggie Adventure

Lucid Dream 21

Ben Ulansey
Bouncin’ and Behavin’ Blogs
8 min readMar 6, 2023

--

Image created by author in Dream app

This is a piece in a growing series of mine about dreams and lucid dreaming. In these stories, I give first-person accountings of some of the dreams that I have each night. Identities and locations can shift around with little to no warning and the narratives don’t follow typical plot structures. For more of these stories, click here.

I’m in my bedroom and I notice that something is amiss. I examine my environment and question whether I’m dreaming. Once I piece it together, though, a sense of equanimity overtakes me. As I sit motionless on my sofa, I reflect back on a book I’ve been reading in real life that might help me here. It’s on the subject of lucid dreaming. I’m shockingly clear-headed; I feel nearly as attentive as I do in my waking life.

The world around me is fascinating and a sense of calm pervades everything. I arise meditatively from my seat with a serene smile on my face. This feels like possibly the greatest conscious awareness that I’ve achieved within a dream yet.

I’m fully cognizant of the direction that I want to take this experience. I remember some of the words within the book I’ve been reading, though, and try to apply them.

--

--

Ben Ulansey
Bouncin’ and Behavin’ Blogs

Writer, musician, dog whisperer, video game enthusiast and amateur lucid dreamer. I write memoirs, satires, philosophical treatises and everything in between 🐙