History | Genocide | Politics

The Highway of Tears: Canada’s Genocide is Not Distant History

Truth and Reconciliation unveil the skeletons in our nation’s closet.

Sam W.
Bouncin’ and Behavin’ Blogs
8 min readJun 26, 2023

--

A small shrine set up, toys and messages left tied to a fence in honor of the missing and murdered Indigenous people that suffered in Canada’s genocide.
People think this was all in the past. Photo by Divina Clark on Unsplash

“Why should I feel guilty for what my ancestors did?”

It’s a fair question, and it’s one I hear often when the topic of genocide comes up. People wonder why we ‘social justice warriors’ are so focused on things that happened hundreds of years ago, that aren’t relevant now.

I’ve read stories about how Canada is a beacon of hope in a world gone mad. A shining example of democracy and love, full of joy and compassion for our fellow man. All the bad stuff, you know, that was so long ago that people don’t need to think about it!

But that simply is not the case. It only displays an ignorance of our country’s history.

I remember having this conversation with a family member only a few years ago when they used the ‘why should I feel guilty’ line with me. After all, it was their great-grandparents’ generation that did it.

I looked at them in surprise and told them that some of Canada’s worst crimes happened not only in their lifetime but in mine.

--

--

Sam W.
Bouncin’ and Behavin’ Blogs

9x Top Writer. Opinion pieces about human rights and activism. Enjoying my work? I also host a weekly newsletter and biweekly podcast at World-Weary.com.