The Power Of The Morning: When It Fights Against You

Smiang's Notes
Bouncin’ and Behavin’ Blogs
2 min readMar 1, 2024
Photo by visuals on Unsplash

So you planned your day the night before. You scheduled every minute and hour in your calendar, you created some nice time blocks. You got your gym wear and placed it at plain site, your books on the desk. The plan? When I get up that’s the first thing I see.

You planned out your ideal day. But it is 1:33 am, and your alarm for the start of the day is 4. You think to yourself ‘2 hours of sleep would do.’ (after all Jimmy Robber said I was sleeping too much ‘you got to get up and grind’).

You lay down on your bed, “Just 2 hrs.’, just 2 hrs.’- you say” and soon your eyes kissed goodnight.

You wake up, and everywhere seems so bright, you reach for your phone, it’s 10:00 am. Holy shit, holy crap, no wayyy. (yes way)

Your schedule is all messed up. You’re late for class, late for that meeting. All late.

The feeling, the disgust, the anger, all come rushing in. You hurriedly get dressed to leave, you don’t follow your quote-and-unquote morning routine.

All through the day you bit yourself up. You can’t get anything done. You aren’t productive and worst you are in conflict with yourself.

This is the power of the morning. Waking up early and getting something done sets a feeling of achievement, it makes you more motivated to get other things done.
You feel good and frankly speaking, you have more time to get more done.

However, things don’t always go as planned. And it is not just the morning. It could be the whole week the whole year, the whole blueprint.

And you get in that state, that awful state—the state of bitterness. Everything seemed ruined.

But hold up, even at that moment, you have 2 choices.

Choice number 1: You feel bitter. You feel frustrated. You become counter-productive. You feel like doing absolutely nothing. Heck yeah is something wrong with me? This is just how I am.

Choice number 2: You get better. Believe me, it's fine. This isn’t going to be the first time. So you say to yourself, F*ck it. I still have some hours more. You plan again. Most great plans have been modified a thousand times.

Don’t let one moment negatively affect the rest of the day or the rest of your life. Re-plan.

Side note: Be realistic. TBH most of my previous plans were absolutely impractical. #I thought I was in this dream world where everything was under my control. News flash: it isn’t.

--

--

Smiang's Notes
Bouncin’ and Behavin’ Blogs

I’m a 3rd-year medical student passionate about growth, both personally and professionally. I’m all about continuous improvement and pushing beyond my limits.