The Reality Of Autism

Steven L
Bouncin’ and Behavin’ Blogs
2 min readApr 5, 2023

--

Photo by Karsten Würth on Unsplash

The one thing that doesn’t get mentioned very much is the lack of self-care that parents of autistic children and or adults have. I will admit, at times, I am guilty of it myself. Parents like myself get overwhelmed with our life as the primary caregiver.

If the kids are at school, we are busy filing paperwork, attending meetings, or coordinating appointments. It is a very demanding job, but I usually try to find time to pursue the activities I enjoy, such as writing and running.

The life I live is not easy. I am a single parent of two teenage boys on the autism spectrum. It is easy to fall into the trap of a downward spiral; therefore, I have to ensure I don’t end up there. It is essential to the well-being of my boys.

Currently, it is my mom and I taking care of all the needs of Matthew and Aidan. She watches them while I am at work. I don’t have any brothers or sisters or anyone to step in when Matthew and Aidan reach adulthood and enter the world.

Aidan may need support when he is older, and Matthew needs 24/7 supervision. I mention a lot about their achievements, but with each breakthrough, there is also a wall.

That is the reality of autism.

--

--

Steven L
Bouncin’ and Behavin’ Blogs

A single father of two teenage boys on the autism spectrum. I also have a passion for blogging and running.